In the nature of the ‘Hello World!’ beginning post, I would also like to greet the blogosphere and hope that others, most importantly AUC (American University of the Caribbean) students, will read this.

For a long time now people close to me have told me to start this blog.  There have been too many behind the scenes events, struggles and friends who have had to leave this school during our struggle to have the Diversity Council recognized.  You should realize that this Blog is more than just the history of a student organization but rather the history of the origins of several different student organizations, the fall and rise of two different AUC administrations, certain back room deals, great student ideas that were snuffed out/never aired, and the continued marginalization of minority student organizations on campus.

I have no idea if I will be able to finish all this in the next few months but this is the time frame I have.  I must juggle being a Medical Student, a Vice President of BGLAM (pseudo, don’t have the grades) and my studies for the Ultimate test; STEP 1.  Next year I have no idea where I will be or what I will be doing outside the STEP so I want this done before the year is over.  More importantly, I want to be done with this blog before I leave so that other students will know what happened and perhaps ask questions that have not yet been asked.  I will off course ask the other founders for their input and I will post them on separate pages/blogs.  This way you will see what happened through different eyes and you can judge for yourself what happened.  I will also be posting under the names of students and student leaders whose ideas have either had a great impact on AUC or have great promise to do so.

Please feel free to comment and share this with others.  The purpose here is to spread the truth about what is happening at AUC and what has happened at AUC behind the scenes.  My greatest hope is that people will read these posts and become interested in our work to make a Caribbean medical school student body and curriculum more progressive in the struggle against health disparities in the US/Canada.

<!–b39a0e1cf3794aa9888159617c470695–>

